Materazzi and Zidane Headbutt Battle Clashes During World Cup — Recap

Loneverse
4 min readJan 5, 2022

--

Materazzi and Zidane Headbutt Battle Clashes During World Cup - Recap

Meet Zidane’s Sister, Lila That Made Him Headbutt Materazzi At The World Cup

A lot of people tend to have forgotten that Zinedine Zidane is originally from Algeria. His parents migrated to France and he subsequently decided to play for France.

Zidane is a Muslim and a principled man. He has a strong bond not just with his wife and children but also with his parents and siblings.

In the final match of the 2006 World Cup between Italy and France an event that remains one of the greatest events in football history occurred.

Both Zidane and Marco Materazzi were saying something to each other. Zidane walked past him, then turned around and head-butted Materazzi on the chest.

Materazzi writhed in pain as he slumped. Everyone wondered what was going on. Then the referee gave Zidane a red card.

Knowing who Zidane was he didn’t bother to argue much. He handed the captain band to someone else and walked past the World Cup trophy to the dressing room.

This was Zidane’s last match as a footballer. How could it end like this?

Italy went on to win on penalties.

There were lots of conjectures. Earlier I’d seen Materazzi pulling Zidane’s shirt. It was said Zidane told him sarcastically he could have it after the game was over. Zidane said Materazzi’s response was something he couldn’t speak out, but it was an insult against him and his family and he couldn’t just accept it: World Cup final or not.

Recently, Materazzi was asked what happened that day. He said when Zidane told him he could have his jersey after the game he read the cynicism behind the remark. It wasn’t just the usual ritual of players exchanging jerseys; it was as though Zidane was saying, I am superior to you so you can have my jersey.

So he replied cynically that he’d rather have Zidane’s sister and Zidane exploded. The rest is history.

Zidane’s younger sister, Lila is his only sister. She’s one of Zidane’s business advisers and also helps in running his numerous business ventures.

Materazzi on infamous headbutt

Zidane asked me if I wanted his shirt, I said I wanted his sister. Zinedine Zidane had rammed his head into the Italy defender’s chest during extra time of the 2006 World Cup final after Marco Materazzi said something to him.

Zinedine Zidane’s infamous headbutt on Italy’s Marco Materazzi remains one of FIFA World Cup’s most intriguing stories.

In his last appearance as an international footballer, the French legend rammed his head into the Italy defender’s chest during extra time of the 2006 World Cup final after Materazzi said something to him. The France captain was red-carded and Italy went on to win the title on penalty kicks.

The incident sparked weeks of speculation about what Materazzi might have told Zidane to provoke such a reaction, and the Italian eventually acknowledged that he had insulted Zidane’s sister.

Speaking to Italian media outlet PassioneInter, Materazzi said, “It felt like a big bang, I didn’t want to take yet another scolding from Gattuso and so I held his shirt. He responded and that’s what happened, luckily, I didn’t expect it otherwise I would have had an early shower too. He asked me if I wanted his shirt, I told him I wanted his sister.”

Remembering the winning Italian side of 2006, Materazzi had said, “I was making a beautiful mess, but everyone did a bit. It’s easier to say who kept quiet. After the games it was always a party, we were a great squad. Pirlo? How many jokes with Gattuso. He always seems quiet but he’s very clever, very clever.”

Talking about toxic fan culture, Materazzi said, “In all the stadiums they sang against me ‘son of a bitch’, judges don’t understand anything. Everybody’s being all morale about this racism thing. You have to punish everybody, you have to close the Curva even for normal insults. Chants are always doing it to annoy the other side, I used to get angry. Why can they wind up me or Balotelli? If you sing against Neapolitans they close the Curva, if you sing against the Genoans they close the Curva.

What did Materazzi say to Zidane?

“After the third clash, I frowned and he retorted: ‘I’ll give you my shirt later’. I replied that I’d rather have his sister than his shirt.” So they’re the words from Materazzi that made Zidane see red when the entire world was watching his every move.

Materazzi and Zidane Headbutt

What did Materazzi say about Zidanes sister?

At first, reports claimed Materazzi had insulted Zidane’s mother. However, comments from the Italian years later denied that — admitted that it was his sister that he spoke about. “My mother died when I was 15, I would never have insulted his,” Materazzi said in 2017. “I spoke about his sister.”

Why did Zidane head Materazzi?

First, why did he do it? Zidane suggested afterwards that his mother had been insulted. Some English newspapers even ran a story that Materazzi had called his mother “a terrorist whore”, apparently based on lip-reading experts, but then had to apologise, retract and pay libel damages when Materazzi denied it.

--

--

Loneverse
0 Followers

hello, I am a writer with over 5 years of writing experience. I make the “Me” in Medium.